Where I Live

 

Looking for a vacation? The Comox Valley is a magical place to explore and get a good taste of Vancouver Island. There’s lots of places to find, discover, and make long lasting priceless memoirs. When my grandparents come to visit from Alberta one of the first things the notice and mention how amazing it smells. You don’t notice it after you have lived here for a while but to any visitors it smells or dense trees and the ocean. O ya! That’s the other great thing about living her is that it ocean is always so close. Well, why don’t we get into some details about the charming shops, the beautiful oceans, and more.

5th Street Courtenay 

Image result for hotchocolates comox

(From the Hot Chocolates Website)

5th >>>street. Sound like just a regular street. 4th street, 5th street, and 6th street. But in  Courtenay 5th street is filled with unique shops. If I am ever stuck and what to get a friend for Christmas, I can always count on 5th to give me an idea for or find something fantastic. No matter who you are I bet you can find something you like. From beautiful beads from the Shipwreck Bead Shop, or delicious treats from Hot Chocolate Cake Bread, or a great read from the Laughing Oyster Book Store! On one my favorites shops there is the Tea Shop. When you walk in you smell the sweet teas. There are two giant shelf’s filled with tons of different teas. One of the best teas I think is one called walnut chia. I think if smells like walnut cookies and tastes like dessert in a cup. One of my other favorite shops is Hot Chocolates Cake Bread. It’s a café on 5th. It is filled with delicious sourdough breads, different delectable desserts , and gelato that is the summer is so refreshing. There are tons more shops on 5th that I love but these are my 2 favorite. So if you are ever in town and fell like doing some shopping, I totally recommend 5th Street in Courtenay.  

Goose Spit

 

(From the Comox Valley Regional District Website)

Goose Spit is a beach we have hear in Comox. And no it is not called Goose Spit because geese spit everywhere. It is called the Spit because it sticks out from the rest of the island. And I think Goose comes from it kind of looking like a gooses neck from above. So that’s where Goose Spit comes from. There are two sides two goose spit. Each being special and taking in its own way. The first side is rock and in the summer is equipped by fire pits. I have more the a dozen adored captions in my mind of spending night down at the Spit with my family and friend roasting marshmallows, and eating hot dogs and grilled cheese that we got to make ourselves. The second side is sandy and has little sea asparagus. One time I tried eating one and it was kind of salty and gross. This side of Goose Spit looks towards the marina (learn more about it in the next paragraph). You can always see boats and sometimes kayaks floating across the water.  

My other favorite part of Goose Spit is when there are storms. One day me and my friend decided to walk down to the Spit when it was pouring out and the wind was roaring and it was such an amazing experience. We climbed up big rocks and stood up looking out towards the ocean. The waves towered. Little water droplets were picked up by the wind and flew into your face and all you can do is lick your lips and taste the salty cold water. And the wind pulls you face into a smile. All you can think about it being there. It is kind of indescribable. All your worries, your stress, and your responsibilities go away and for that moment all you are is a person watching a storm and you realize how lucky you are to be there.  

 

Downtown Comox/The Grind 

Image result for the komox grind

(Just their logo)

Cute. That’s the word that my Dad says every time we drive through Downtown. And that’s exactly what it is. Cute. Downtown Comox is filled with charming cafés and adorable shops. Something that I love about Downtown is that it is right of the marina. Most of the store have beautiful views to the blue ocean and tall sail boat masts. Though I love all the nosheries and boutique I am going to zoom in on one of them. The Grind. Something I think is really unique about the Grind that I love, is that they spell Comox the traditional way, “Komox”. The common way to spell “Comox” is European, “Komox” is the traditional Aboriginal way.  The reason I chose the Komox Grind is because it find it such an awesome place to hang out with friends. Sometimes me and my friend will bike down to the Grind and buy smoothies! The smoothies at the Grind are so yummy. They have a wide selection of coffees, teas, smoothies, lattes. Plus they have a small collection of pastries, savory and sweet! Something for everyone. One of the best smoothies I think is the Curious George. Based of you yes, you guessed it one of all our favorite children T.V. show. Inspired by our fav monkey. The Curious George consists his most loved flavors. While enjoying a thick chocolaty puree, you of taste hints banana-y sweetness. It is really good. So while I enjoy my delicious Curious George I get the awesome opportunity to look are the meberizing views of the ocean’s waves.

If you haven’t noticed I clearly love living hear. It’s small here, but that’s one of the reasons I love it here. I hope I have persuaded you to come visit if you are ever in need of a vacation. So come to Vancouver Island Comox!

P.S. Don’t forget to comment and tell me about where you live!

-Olivia

4 Comments on Where I Live

  1. Adrian
    March 7, 2018 at 1:44 am (6 years ago)

    Hi again Olivia!
    My name is Adrian and I live in North Carolina, USA. North Carolina (especially my city) used to be pretty small, but now it is the fourth-fastest growing cities in North Carolina! We have gotton really big over the six years I have lived here, and I love it! I think I may just have to do a post about where I live as well! (Don’t worry, I’ll try to cite your blog). I hope you continue to have a great time in your small town. Please invite me to one of your storm viewing parties! I will definitely try to come there for my next vacation.
    Adrian

    Reply
    • Olivia
      March 7, 2018 at 5:08 pm (6 years ago)

      Hi again Adrian,
      That’s really cool that you live in North Carolina, because if I am correct, part of it is on the east coast? And I am over on the west coast! It is really different between the two. I mean there to totally different oceans! Please do come actually! Its so pretty here! I used to live in a city out side of Edmonton, Alberta that was kinda a busy so I really like it here instead. You should totally write a where I live post! Nice to here from you!
      -Olivia

      Reply
  2. crossleyj18
    March 27, 2018 at 9:01 pm (6 years ago)

    Hi Olivia my name is Jess I live in Oamaru, New Zealand but have family in BC Canada in Vancouver Island Hot Chocolates is my favourite shop of all time!!!! We went there for a holiday 2 years ago now I absolutely love Canada and would go back any time I will tell you a little bit about Oamaru now. Oamaru is a small town in the south island we have 1 main intermediate 3 highschools and lots of primary schools we have no major shops so we normally travel to go shopping you basically know everybody here and we have an approximate population of 13,900, 🙂 from Jess

    Reply
    • Olivia
      March 28, 2018 at 8:07 pm (6 years ago)

      Hey Jess,
      I have actually been to New Zealand and I have stayed in Oamaru! i was quite little at the time, we stayed over night when we went to New Zealand. That’s pretty cool that we have been to each others place of lives. Interesting. Canada is an amazing place to live, but I also loved visiting New Zealand. The beaches there are so beautiful, very much different from the ones we have here, but both are gorgeous. Thanks for the comment.
      -Olivia

      Reply

Leave a Reply